Skip navigation


You are here: Homepage > Press Room > Previous Press Releases > New Government Sworn In

Cabinet Ministers: (L-R) the Hon Mark Scotland, the Hon Rolston Anglin, the Hon McKeeva Bush OBE, the Hon. Juliana O'Connor-Connolly and the Hon. Mike Adam MBE.

Published 28th May 2009, 12:41pm

The new Government of the Cayman Islands - the Cabinet and Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) - was sworn in today (Wednesday 27 May, 2009).

A packed audience also saw a new Speaker of the House formally selected.

Today's ceremony was the culmination of Cayman's latest exercise in democracy, following the general elections held one week ago.

(L) New Leader of Government Business the Hon McKeeva Bush OBE, and Leader of the Opposition the Hon Kurt Tibbetts, shake hands.

For the first time, the swearing took place on a dais in front of the Legislative Assembly (LA) building. After taking the Oaths for Due Execution of Office, the new MLAs entered the Chambers of the LA.

Inside, before a full gallery, the Hon Mary Lawrence was nominated and took the Oath of Allegiance, administered by His Excellency the Governor Mr Stuart Jack CVO.

Mrs Lawrence is the first Speaker of the House to be nominated and selected from outside the Legislative Assembly.

The officials then returned outside to take the Cabinet Ministers' oaths. These were then signed by the Hon McKeeva Bush OBE, the Hon Juliana O'Connor-Connolly, the Hon Mike Adam MBE, the Hon Rolston Anglin, and the Hon Mark Scotland.

In addition to the five elected members, the three Official Members of Cabinet - Chief Secretary the Hon George McCarthy OBE; Acting Attorney General the Hon Cheryl Richards and Financial Secretary the Hon Kenneth Jefferson - also took their oaths.

In turn, Leader of the Opposition the Hon Kurt Tibbetts and other members of the Opposition, as well as other Backbenchers were sworn in.

The morning's proceedings were broadcast live on television and radio.