Skip navigation


You are here: Homepage > Press Room > Previous Press Releases > Youth Parliament Reception

Published 1st April 2008, 1:27pm

Both form and content of recent Youth Parliament debates drew praise from HE the Governor, Mr Stuart Jack, CVO.

At a Government House reception on Monday 10 March, Mr Jack lauded the forward thinking displayed by Caymanís future parliamentarians. Their three topics were the environment and the future, the national youth policy, and the preservation and enhancement of Caymanian culture.

Equally impressed by the debating skills and participantsí passion for the future and for the environment, the Governor was also struck by the amount of research done to flesh out both their arguments and their long-term views.

He reminded the youth parliamentarians of the Commonwealth Day message delivered that day by Her Majesty the Queen in which she also spoke about climate change and the environment.

Noting the young peopleís empathy for environmental preservation, he referred to Youth Parliamentarian Heidi Knowlton emphasizing that quick fixes or íchewing gum solutionsí have limited potential while long-term solutions are the key.

Deeming the reception a special occasion, Mr Jack referred to the presence of UK parliamentarians Sir John Stanley, Mr Paul Keetch and Mr Greg Pope, all members of a visiting UK Foreign Affairs Committee, and to the visiting US delegation led by Rear Admiral David W. Kunkel, Commander of the Seventh Coast Guard District.

"We are celebrating the youth parliamentary system and our values as well as our links with the UK and with our neighbour and ally, the US," the Governor said.

The youth parliamentarians received plaques and certificates presented by Leader of Government Business the Hon Kurt Tibbetts, Opposition Leader McKeeva Bush and MLA Rolston Anglin.

Photo captions Photo by Information Officer Bina Mani

Governor Speaks:†††
Governor Speaks†††
HE the Governor, Mr Stuart Jack, CVO, addresses the youth parliamentarians.

Gov and Wendy†††
Gov and Wendy†††
The Governor with Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Wendy Lauer

LOGB Greets Melody†††
LOGB Greets Melody†††
Leader of Government Business Hon Kurt Tibbetts who presented certificates to the youth parliamentarians greets Melody Martin the Cayman Brac representative and Deputy Speaker in the Youth Parliament. Also seen are Assistant Clerk of the LA Nana Bothwell and Organising Committee Chairman Alfonso Wright, MLA.

Mr Bush Greets Corinna†††
Mr Bush Greets Corinna†††
Leader of the Opposition Hon McKeeva Bush congratulates Corinna Worm. Also seen are (from left) Deputy Clerk of the LA Sharon Smith, Assistant Clerk Nana Bothwell and Leader of Government Business Hon Kurt Tibbetts (partially hidden).

Rolston Michaiah Plaque:†††
Rolston Michaiah Plaque†††
Michaiah Bryan receives his plaque from Organising Committee Member Rolton Anglin, MLA

Gov with Group:†††
Gov with Group†††
HE the Governor, Mr Stuart Jack, CVO, (back row, third left) was happy to let the youth parliamentarians take centre stage: (front row, from left) Taylor Myers, Garbiella Mendoza-Hydes, Justin Jacky, Melody Martin, Jessica Kong, Elizabeth Charles, Annalisa Wallace; (middle row, from left) Owen Foster, Michaiah Bryan (partially seen); Weward Marvin Hurlston, Joseph Gracey, Alex Cowan, Saleicia Samaroo, Kalesha Edwards, Latoya Davis, Raven Ramoon, Andrel Harris, and Corrina Worm (hidden); (back row, from left) Duet Berry, Marzeta Bodden, HE, Thea Bush, Sidney Terry and Geoffrey Grizzel. Absent is Heidi Knowlton.