Skip navigation


You are here: Homepage > Press Room > Previous Press Releases > Youth Parliament 2011

Some of the participants in this year's Youth Parliament

Published 4th March 2011, 4:18pm

Twenty-two young persons are busy transforming themselves into 'parliamentarians'.

They will take centre-stage at Cayman's fourth Youth Parliament on Commonwealth Day (Monday, 14 March) at the Legislative Assembly. The event is being held by the Cayman Islands Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

This year's 10 female and 12 male participants began their involvement late last year and are now hard at work developing their debating skills and learning the processes to be parliamentarians for a day.

Minister the Hon. Mark Scotland, JP (left) and the Hon. Rolston Anglin, JP meet members of the youth parliament's Opposition bench for a strategising session.

Coaching them are a committee comprising MLAs Dwayne Seymour (Bodden Town - Chairman), Ellio Solomon (George Town); Deputy Speaker Cline Glidden Jr. and Capt. Eugene Ebanks (both West Bay) and Moses Kirkconnell (Cayman Brac and Little Cayman) as well as Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Zena Merren-Chin.

Deputy Clerk Sharon Smith and Assistant Clerk Nana Bothwell are also sharing correct procedures and the order of events.

Clerk of the LA Zena Merren-Chin leads a rehearsal session.

Meeting every Tuesday and Saturday, the participants are students from the University College of the Cayman Islands (UCCI), John Gray, Clifton Hunter and Cayman Brac High Schools; CI Further Education Centre; Cayman Prep and High; St. Ignatius High and Cayman International School.

Choosing from among themselves the Government and Opposition members as well as the Cabinet, the Governor, the Speaker, Clerk and Serjeant-at-Arms, the participants also chose topics for two debates.

Assistant Clerk Nana Bothwell rehearses procedure with youth parliamentarians.

"With the hard work all are putting in, especially our young parliamentarians, we are aiming for a memorable performance," Chairman Seymour said.

The occasion will also commemorate the 100th anniversary of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, noted Clerk Merren-Chin.